Short CV

Curriculum vitae

Dr. Christian Papp (*1975)

Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie II, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Since 2015         Privatdozent at Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

2011-2014           Habilitation at the Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg                                     (Mentor: Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück)

                              Surface Chemical Reactions – in situ studies of heterogeneous catalysis and the reactivity                                   of modified surfaces    

Since 9/2009       Group leader of the surface and in-situ spectroscopy group
      • Model catalysis and reaction kinetics on surfaces and nanoclusters
      • Hydrogen storage applications             
      • Metal-supported graphene
      • Ambient pressure XPS
2008 – 2009        Postdoctoral work with a Feodor Lynen grant of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation,                                      Materials Science Division/Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and Physics                                                  Department/University of California Davis, with Prof. Charles S. Fadley
      • Soft x-ray standing wave experiment
      • High energy ARPES and XPS
2007                   Postdoctoral work, Chair for Physical Chemistry, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

2003-2007           PhD student at the Chair for Physical Chemistry at the Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, with                                  Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Steinrück
investigations of adsorbed hydrocarbons – model systems of heterogeneous catalysis                                (summa cum laude)

Awards, Honors and Community Service:  

Since 2019         Member of the Photon Science Division Proposal Review Committee of Paul Scherrer Institute,                               Switzerland

Since 2018         Member of the Project Review Panel for photon science at DESY, Germany

2017                   Speaker / Member of the User Committee at BESSY II, Helmholtzzentrum Berlin (HZB)

2015                   Emmy-Noether-Habilitationspreis des Universitätsbundes Erlangen-Nürnberg

2015                   Dozentenpreis of the Fonds der Chemischen Industrie

2014-2016          Member of the User Committee at BESSY II, Helmholtzzentrum Berlin (HZB)

Since 12/2012    Member of the Cluster of Excellence “Engineering of Advanced Materials”

2008-2009          Feodor-Lynen grant of the Alexander-von-Humboldt foundation

2007                   Karl-Giehrl-Preis of the Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg


Scientific contributions:

99 publications in peer-reviewed journals

> 200 contributions at national and international conferences

> 35 invited lectures at scientific institutions and conferences